Civitas Resources

Hand of cards w- Logo

 

I hope you’re enjoying Civitas! Once the game is released, I’ll include some of my articles and resources up here—including the game’s glossary. Check back later for more!

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

  • Maria Tuckey

    Dear Tyler,

    We have been enjoying playing the game Civitas but we would like some clarification of play. When the ‘No Quorum Democracy Interrupt card’ is played after the previous player has selected a card, being unto play, does the No Quorum card become inactive? What do you mean by “without resolving it’s effects”?

    Kind regards,

    Maria.

    • Hi Maria,

      Interesting scenario! If the previous player did not play a card, then *No Quorum* would not really have any effect. You can still play it, if only to get the points out of your hands.

      In a more typical situation, “…without resolving its effects.” means that whatever card was put back into the previous player’s hand doesn’t impact play. So, for instance, if it’s currently a democracy and I play a “Government change card” to move us to a Monarchy, you can interrupt with “No Quorum” — I then take my government change card back into my hand and we remain a democracy. Does that clear it up?

      • Maria Tuckey

        Thanks Tyler,

        Thanks for the information. We were playing last night and the question of ‘without resolving its effects’ came up again. If the previous player had to draw any cards do they have the opportunity to return or discard them. Does that also mean you can play a democracy card ie ‘No Quorum” even if someone is in the process of changing government when the outgoing government is democracy? Interesting….It is a great game. Well done.

        Regards,

        Maria.

        • Yes, you’re right — that’s exactly what it means. No Quorum *interrupts* the change of government and doesn’t give it an opportunity to conclude.

          If the previous player had to draw cards instead of playing a card, then “No Quorum” wouldn’t allow him to get rid of those cards. Now, if I play a Tax on Johnny, and you interrupt me with “No Quorum” then Johnny doesn’t have to draw, because in that case I am the “previous player” being interrupted — not Johnny. Does that make sense?

          • Maria Tuckey

            Thanks again. it has become a very popular game in this household. Congratulations!